My Book of Prayers

Pauline Books
Grade / Age level: 

My Books of Prayers is a nice booklet to keep handy, too. The prayers are the standard ones -- although for some reason the "Guardian Angel prayer" is a bit of an insipid version and the traditional "Morning Offering" is not included. Otherwise, I think this is a great little prayer book.

The book is divided into two major components -- prayers and the liturgical year. The prayers section includes:

  • basic prayers (Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be)
  • morning prayers
  • prayers during the day (Grace and prayer for peace)
  • night prayers
  • other prayers (for family members, friends, etc.)
  • The Rosary (including the Luminous Mysteries)

The section on the liturgical year is a nice overview of how the Church marks time. Each season -- Advent, Christmas, Lent, Holy Week and Easter-Pentecost -- has a one-page explanation of how the Church celebrates these seasons and then there is a prayer/psalm that can be prayed during the specific season. Further, there is a nice overview of the Stations of the Cross with a short prayer for each station.This book, too, is targeted to children who have received their First Communion and First Reconciliation; I'd put the target age at 8-11 year olds.

Review Date: 
Reviewed by: